Mount Up, Dancing Girls; Are You Ready to Ride?

In the greater scheme of things, it may not matter a whole lot to the great big world, but it matters quite a BIT to a few of us. The joyous news from the front porch is that within the past day or two, three new Dancing Girls opened their eyes, looked around, and put their dancing skirts on for the very first time!

You may have seen the posting about a month ago, when I bought a few new critters at the museum shop on campus; on this morning, several of them met the Dancing Girls. Some of the new steeds look quite a bit more ridable than others; one or two (especially that prickly one in the linked photo), not so much!

And what a dramatic day it was to be born! For life has been bursting out all over our yard. We've seen hummingbirds, and butterflies; and there's a nesting blue jay in the big lilac bush, which is finally blooming its fool head off, thank you very much!

But a great big storm blew up in the evening, and it rocked and rolled our yard. It caused major damage in some areas, including flooding and power outages. We were fortunate, as our power winked out and came right back on. Friends I know are still without power a day later, at the time of this writing.

In our area, we experienced a lot of rain and very heavy winds, but it wasn't quite as lightningy and thunderboomy as I feared it might be. As is sometimes our custom, my husband and I went out and stood on the front porch, arms around each other, watching and listening to the rain.

I enjoy a good crack-and-boomer, and undeterred by decorum, I have been known to dance barefoot in the rain in our yard. I also wanted to be available to console and support the Dancing Girls. As it was their very first storm, I was afraid they might be scared to death. But no, that wasn't the case at all!

As we stood on the porch, the rain coming down in sheets, my husband and I heard the cardinal singing quite cheerfully from a tree nearby. And on the front porch, there were my fine Dancing Girls, kicking up their heels, dancing a dance of joy, rockin' to the rhythm of the rain!

The soundtrack: the Judds, Rockin' with the Rhythm of the Rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.