Mixed emotions

So nice to see that all was going well at the Great Crested Grebes nest closest to the apartment, when I stopped there on my way home from work. The heads of only two chicks are visible in this photo, but I'm fairly certain that I could distinguish a third one a little later, but unfortunately I was unable to capture that.

Sadly, my worst fears for the other pair of Great Crested Grebes, who had their nest disturbed over the weekend, seem to have come true. The area was peaceful and quiet again when I got there and I started to feel faintly hopeful that there might be a favourable ending for them after all, because one of the birds was sitting in the middle of the platform again. Not long after my arrival though, the Grebe abandoned that spot and after looking back several times, it eventually swam away with its mate. I waited for a while to see if either would come back, but they didn't.

A big thank you for the kind comments, stars and heart on yesterday's blip. They are very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.