Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Vegetable Plot

Cardiff City are playing their last match of the season this Saturday, and are again offering two free tickets per season ticket holder; so I made my way to the ground to collect our four. I had to pass the UHW (explained below) and it's a photo I've been meaning to get for a while. I usually have at least one call out a week here.

I decided the best place was the allotments on Allensbank Road and luckily the gate was unlocked. I remember my dad had an allotment here in the early1960's and I have some memory of going there with him.

After I'd got my photo's I headed to my parents house, which they've now sold and waiting to move. On chatting to my dad about the allotments it turns out that I was at the exact spot he had his vegetable plot! Who'd have thought over 50 years later I'd be back there!

The blip photo is an aerial view of a Cardiff landmark; The University Hospital of Wales (UHW) situate on Eastern Avenue, Heath district. It's also known to some as Heath Hospital.

It is a major 1000-bed hospital and the teaching hospital of Cardiff University School of Medicine. Construction started in 1963 with the official opening in 1971. It was Europe's first fully integrated hospital and medical school at a cost of £22 million. The hospital is the third largest University Hospital in the UK and the largest hospital in Wales.


Wide Angle Wednesday challenge results will be posted tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.