An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Transience...

Just before I went to bed last night, I got an email from my friend J telling me that her husband A died yesterday morning.  My  heart is breaking for her and her three wonderful children.  

A was diagnosed almost two years ago with Motor Neurone Disease and faced the diagnosis with such bravery.  They all did.  With his health declining he and J went on a trips round the country visiting and staying with friends and family, eating, drinking, being merry and generally, celebrating life.   Squeezing every last drop of enjoyment out of their limited time left together.  

I know the last couple of months and weeks have been hell on earth as A''s life moved ever nearer to it's inevitable end as a result of this horrific disease.   I know the family are entering a new circle of hell, dealing with the loss of their much loved husband and dad, but I hope they will get some comfort from knowing, for A at least, the pain is over.

J lives three hours from me and due to my current mobility problems I won't be able to attend A's funeral but I am so pleased that our little group has a cottage booked for a girly weekend in J's neck of the woods in a few weeks time, and I am determined to be mobile enough to go and give her my love and a hug in person.

It's our friend Adrian's 50th birthday celebrations this evening.  Small bunch of family and close friends having dinner in a private room at The Handmade Burger Company in Glasgow followed by a movie of his choice in their 20 seater cinema with all the popcorn you can eat.

Adrian is completely unaware of this and thinks he's just going out for a meal with my best pal Agnes (his wife :-) and daughter Emily as he was emphatic he didn't want a big fuss.   He is really struggling with turning 50 but I am sure he will be over the moon with tonight as Agnes has got the balance between low key and special celebration just perfect with this little combo.  

I am so sorry to be missing it and up until lunch time I was hoping to attempt to go, but having just started to enjoy a little pain reduction, I didn't want to set myself back.  And being realistic, since it takes me all my time to walk from the living room to the loo,  it would probably have ended in disaster.  David has gone and I'm glad.  I would have hated him to miss his best pal's celebration because of me.  I've caused enough trouble over the past few weeks!  

Getting that email from J has put into perspective for me once again, how fleeting life is.  There's Adrian, not looking forward to turning 50 when in fact each birthday is an absolute privilege.   Not just each birthday but each day, each minute.  

And here was me feeling sorry for myself to be missing tonight's celebrations, when the worst outcome is I have a night with my feet up, a wee G&T and control of the telly buttons.   And my husband to hug when he gets home.

Life is short indeed and I need to remember that, not to be morbid  but to make sure every last minute is lived and enjoyed to the full, be that at a birthday celebration or at home with my feet up.

Tonight I will raise my glass to wish Adrian a very happy birthday and to celebrate the life A, a good man taken too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.