A Moment of Emotion

Basil and I went to King Power Stadium to share in the ambience of this historic day. Leicester City fans were filling the pavements, chanting, waving flags, and getting drunk.

Outside the stadium, the ground was littered with rubbish. I'm told that rubbish bins aren't provided because they're a security risk. Cheaper then, to clear it all up afterwards.

The sky darkened and the crowd cheered at the first clap of thunder, hailing it, I guess, as an omen.

A lot of feel good factor. These two fans were just overcome by it all.

Then rain started falling, heavily. Basil and I were soaked. Even our bid to find a shelter behind the electric sub-station was in vain. Basil was so upset at being drenched, that he crept behind my legs to try to keep out of the weather.

As the rain was abating, a group of revellers spotted Baz with his blue dicky bow tie on and took his photo. Will it go viral?

Various gentlemen kept popping their heads round the corner looking for places to piss. I too wanted to relieve myself. A combination of being soaked and wanting to find a loo led Baz and me to wander back up the road. Thus I missed hearing Bocelli.

We had to walk all the way to the Charlotte Pub opposite Jewry Gate to find a toilet. The bouncer at the Soar Point wouldn't let us in because the place was heaving.

I liked the Charlotte. A plain, unpretentious pub. I had two double gin and tonics and was able to give Basil two doggy sausages to try and compensate.

15 minutes to wait for the bus and rolled into Kat and George's place just in time to see Everton score their goal against Leicester. And then, all the celebrations on TV!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.