Master of All He Surveys

The sun came out, the wind died down and it was a very pleasant day. I was relieved to finish writing up all my Hong Kong posts, yet glad to get them set down.

Many thanks especially to #Madchickenwoman who faved so many of my photos on Flickr.

Basil and I went for a walk this afternoon up on the Hathern Road with the intention of finishing off at Oakley Grange Farm Cafe to sit in the sun and enjoy a spot of refreshment.

I'd intended to walk down the Hathern Road for a bit and then return. Basil had other ideas. He trotted off along the footpath that transects the road. The ground was hard and dry, most unusual for this locale. There's usually some mud somewhere. Weathermen are warning that we didn't receive any rain in April and are not likely to get any for another week or so.

Meanwhile, the young wheat is sprouting up. Basil paused to gaze south towards Shepshed and Charnwood Forest. 

I had my Canon 5d mkiv with me today to try some multi exposures. They were unsuccessful. I have to keep trying in order to get some usable results.

Two fields along, is a huge pile of building rubble. I don't know if the farmer is responsible or whether anti social people are just dumping. Right in the middle was a clump of gorgeous orange poppies.

My leg had had enough. We turned round and returned to the car. Basil looked disappointed. It was lovely sitting in the sun at the cafe. I bought a joint of pork to cook for supper tonight.

Larks were singing, lambs were bleating. People were sitting in t-shirts. Not me, I hasten to add. A young lad had found a dead sparrow and was carrying it around to show to his family. He was persuaded to part with it.

On our way out, I spoke to him. He and his brother were on holiday from Jersey. They said they liked it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.