Mono Monday HERITAGE MM120

The Mono Monday theme this week is HERITAGE and the tag is mm120. Thanks for all the lovely entries I'll be announcing hearts on Wednesday or Thursday.

It's Liberation Day here in Jersey (and Guernsey) celebrating 71 years since the end of the Nazi Occupation during World War Two. The Channel Islands were the only part of British soil that was occupied from July 1940 to May 1945.

I was planning on going down to town to get shots of the celebrations this lunch time but rain stopped my play! When the rain eventually broke late afternoon I went up to Les Landes on the north-west coast. I wanted to get a shot of one of the fortifications that are a part of Battery Moltke particularly this MP3 observation and radar tower. This image looks bleak today and I imagine it was incredibly grim during the Occupation. 

Fortunately Les Landes has been designated as a Site of Special Interest (SSI) since 1996 for it's landscape, wildlife, archaeology and geological features. Today gorse, thrift, heather and bluebells were in flower and I saw linnets and meadow pipits. Despite it's recent dark history it's a wonderful place to walk in the fresh air with great views of the other islands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.