Weed or wild flower?

This morning I woke when I heard Neil unsuccessfully trying to start my car to move it, so that he could go to work! I jumped out of bed and rushed downstairs. It needs the clutch in to start & I hadn't told him.

Karen & I had another hour chatting over tea and toast before she was eventually allowed to properly relax as I packed up my stuff and headed over to Magog Down.

There I met up with Jon and he made me a cup of tea in his little metal cabin; his makeshift office. It was roasting, so we sat in the shade, and i told him about my weekend. Of course, he already knew as he'd read my blips - but I told him anyway & said we must go back!

I left at 12 for home, stopping in Swaffham for a Tesco mealdeal for lunch, arriving home at 2.30. I spent my first 15 minutes in the garden, in the sun, reading the final chapter of my book. I had thought I would finish it at the weekend, but I think I was just talking too much!

I put in a load of washing, and when Henry came in from school we hung it out. Then I gave the bathroom a really good clean & once in the mood went outside and cleaned my car while Henry cooked dinner.

I've just got back from a short dog walk, where I took this close up of the ground ivy (?) in the verge. The flower is so delicate and perfect, just like a tiny orchid. Why do we call so many wild flowers weeds I wonder?

Home and now I'm in the bath. Being VERY careful not to drop my phone! Looking forward to my own bed tonight. Not looking forward to an early morning, back to normal day tomorrow, but I think the break did me good. So hopefully I'll be nicer to be with....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.