TINY TUESDAY : SNAIL RACE

I know I blipped a snail on our Clematis Montana last Tuesday, but when I went into the garden to look for a Blip this morning, I was amazed at how many snails were on the plant.  It has been raining very hard overnight, so the slugs were out too.  Mr. HCB told me the other day that there would be “an explosion of slugs and snails” and he is quite right.

I watched as they crawled, or should that be slithered, up each stem and it was pretty obvious where they had been by the great chunks missing out of the petals.  I’m not sure whether this is Mother and Baby - but the small one is definitely tiny and fits in with the challenge for today.

Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday - I did ring Ancestry and after telling me there was nothing they could do, “at this present moment”, to reduce my annual subscription from £119.99, I told them in that case I would be cancelling - whereupon the young lady put me on hold, then came back to say they could offer me a 25% reduction - so the moral of this story is “never accept the first price given”!

I made a large collage for Son Number 1 in celebration of his birthday today, but have embarrassed him enough on Facebook, so will just wish him a very Happy Birthday - Mr. HCB and I did ring and sing to him, as we always do, so I think that’s enough (between you and me, I think he would have been disappointed if we hadn't!)

The spiral in a snail's shell 
is the same mathematically 
as the spiral in the Milky Way galaxy, 
and it's also the same mathematically 
as the spirals in our DNA. 
It's the same ratio that you'll find 
in very basic music that transcends cultures 
all over the world. 
Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.