THE POWER

How does the common cold
     have the power
          to lay me low
               wipe me out
                    and make me feel
so dreadful?

The cough
     headache, sore throat and
          rasping breaths
               I've got them all - 
                    but that's the power 
of the common cold.

I wish I had that
     sort of power
          in my life
every day!

But wait - 
     I CAN have power like that!
Jesus said,
     "You WILL receive power 
          when the Holy Spirit
               comes upon you 
                    and you will be
                         my witnesses
wherever you go." 

The good thing is
     I don't have to wait
          until Pentecost -
               I just have to believe
                    and ask 
for it NOW! 

© Maureen Iles 10/5/17

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.