An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Six Minute Soup...

Well the day had a bit of dramatic start.  

Anna got Alan up, showered and dressed.  I was in the kitchen preparing his brunch (yes lazy boy missed breakfast but it wasn't quite lunchtime) when Anna came through all breathless and slightly panicked saying she couldn't get Alan's hoist to work.  I thought he was still in it but thankfully he was lying on his bed, fully dressed and very impatient to get up and come through to get something to eat.  She'd tried everything to get it working, pushed the safety cut out button, checked it was fully charged, pushed every button she could see but nope, it was stone dead.

I handled the situation beautifully and did what I always do in moments of mild crisis; I phoned David.  Not sure what he could have done from his office an hour away but it's my default action.   No reply.  Then I remembered about the portable hoist that we take on holiday.  Anna went to drag it from the Games room while I went through to talk to Alan, who was absolutely raging not happy at the delay.

Anna appeared with the portable hoist and I suggested we have one more go at trying to get the ceiling hoist to work (I wasn't sure the portable hoist was charged!)  Poor Anna went back up on the stool to reach the control part and pushed various buttons to no avail.  I asked her if she'd tried pulling the safety cord and pushing it back in again.  She hadn't so she did and hey presto, it worked!  Panic over.  Phew!

This afternoon, in my continuing effort to eat as healthily as I can, I decided to make this creamy broccoli soup in my new vitamix.   Packed full of goodness and ready in six minutes.  Perfect.

After six minutes I took the lid off, watched the steam rise, poured it into my waiting plate, garnished it with some chopped chives.   Yum.  Healthy food doesn't come any better than this.  I put my spoon into the rich, velvety goodness and had my first taste...

Oh.  Em.  Gee.  It was absolutely bowfin!  

An acquired taste I thought, and manfully ploughed on, suppressing my gag reflex until I'd actually managed to eat about half a plateful.  At that point I really did have to stop before I recreated that infamous head spinning scene from The Exorcist.

Oh dear.  Maybe it needed more garlic and herbs.  Won't ever find out as I definitely won't be making that one again.  Shuddering at the very thought!  

To cheer myself up and to make friends again with my blender, I decided to make a strawberry, pineapple smoothie (see extra).  Almond milk, fresh strawberries, frozen pineapple and a spoonful or honey. 

Deeeeelicious :-))

 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.