Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Banerigg Bluebells

Up early to find heavy grey clouds above, but blue sky to the north.  I made the effort and drove up to Dunmail Raise to have a look at the repaired section of the A591, which is re-opening on Friday (13th!).  I got talking to a security guard, who was just about to finish his night shift.  All the work is completed and it is just a question of opening the road.  I imagine many people will be very happy to have the road open again (I've added an image looking north towards Thirlmere from the tarmacked footpath which was constructed running parallel to the road.

I then drove up to Kirkstone Pass.  I bumped into two camera crews, one from Look North, filming for the diary programme about the re-opening and then another cameraman who was waiting for a lady to drive passed.  He was filming for a documentary that will go out on the anniversary of the floods in December.  The lady lives in Keswick, but works in Ambleside as a head teacher and she has been diverted either through Kirkstone pass, or worse still down the M6 in bad weather.  I've included a couple of shots, looking up towards Kirkstone Inn and then down towards Brothers Water (complete with a JCB in the foreground).

Finally, I was attracted to stop alongside Grasmere and the bluebells in Banerigg Woods, just as the sun started to break through the cloud.

**STOP PRESS**

Tonight's BBC local magazine programme has announced that the A591 will re-open at 8:30 am tomorrow (Wednesday 11th May).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.