Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Wainwright before Breakfast

I met another photographer last night who had suggested a short walk off the Easdale Road.  I followed his advice, to begin with, but as I climbed higher I got more excited by the views appearing before me.  Before I knew it I was two thirds of the way to the summit of Silver How, and I hadn't reached the summit of that fell before!  Well it had to be done, so by 7:30 am I had climbed it and was sitting on a rocky outcrop taking in this view before me.  

Lucky I was sitting, it was blowing a gale.  I  increased the ISO, spread the tripod legs, hung the camera bag from the base plate and hoped for the best.  I made my way down and made it back for breakfast, then it was time to leave.  The A591 had re-opened so we drove along it to Keswick to see the improvements.  The whole section along the reservoir has been relayed and I can imagine a lot of work to divert water under the road has also taken place.  A lot of coverage in the local media and it even made the national BBC news tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.