RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Mother's Day Flowers Again

I have been told over and over that the key to good travel photos is to get closer to the action. I am unfortunately a committed telephoto shooter. My favorite lens is my 70-200mm which I typically shoot at 200mm. Having shot this scene from across the street yesterday, I rode in this morning with the idea of using the wider end of my 24-105mm to get in close for a change. Varying degrees of success, I found I wasn’t as uncomfortable as I thought I would be so close to the action, but at the same time I had a hard time thinking “wide”, I continually wanted to isolate the subject (a technique that comes so easily when using a telephoto). I guess that is why I was ultimately drawn to this shot. Even though he is surrounded by flowers, the plain umbrella backdrop and direct look into the camera creates a sense of intimacy reminiscent of my longer lens. 


Tomorrow we start a three week trip to the United States with an overnight at the Mexico City Airport. Not certain how much time I will have for commenting and responding, but will do my best to keep up while on the road (providing the internet is more reliable than our's at the apartment - currently undergoing "a system upgrade" which means no access anytime after about eight in the morning, darned inconvenient for maintaining a blip presence).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.