Penguin Droppings

By gen2

They Have Emerged

Green Hairstreak - Callophrys rubi.

The local colony of green hairstreaks has now emerged (after a fruitless visit last Thursday).  I was hoping to find a mating pair to photograph but I wasn't that lucky.

There were about a dozen individuals flitting around and resting on the gorse or bilberry plants.  I took about 50 photos but only a handful were clear and had a decent background.  Most were taken with my old bridge camera (Canon SX30) but a few were taken close-up on my pocket compact.  The main blip is one such taken on the Ixus 105.  The two 'Extras' were from the larger camera.

Rather strangely, there was a young woman there looking for the same butterflies but all she had to photograph them with was an i-phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.