Inside the Lily

Last fall I planted lily bulbs in the pots on our deck. It was late in the season and many of the bulbs were somewhat the worse for wear. Not only that but some creature, I think the squirrel, decided to dig up the bulbs and eat them. So I was sure I wouldn't have lilies at all this spring. Boy was I wrong. A bunch came up. Many were this rose and white combination. Today I decided to photograph deep inside the lily with only the stamen in focus. Be sure to look at the large version of this one so you can see the interesting texture on the tip of the stamen.

Around noon we drove to Anacortes to take in my two paintings that will be in the Anacortes Art at the Port show during the Anacortes Arts Festival which runs from Friday, August 3rd through the weekend. If you live nearby, come on down. There are lots of booths with really wonderful artisans showing and selling their work. The Art at the Port show is in the large building on Commercial that is all the way down at the water. Should be a good show. There will be work from over 80 artists on display.

After we took in my paintings and those of my friend Vikki, we went to Dave and Nora's. Nora made really yummy macaroni and cheese and we all played Mexican Train and Rummy. Then we headed home and D&N went off to the movies.

It was a great day even though it was cold and rainy in July.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.