Flag Iris

OilMan and I were talking about the weather this morning. (At least we still talk to each other, unlike the couples of our generation in restaurants who can sit across a table from each other and consume an entire meal without uttering a word to each other.) What IS it about the weather that makes it almost an inevitable topic of conversation anywhere, anytime, anyplace and with anybody? It must be the fact that the weather affects everybody one way or another, and that makes it a worthy topic of conversation,

But I digress….A major reason I wanted to move out of Berkeley was the local fog in the summer. Sometimes we would never see the sun all day. Sometimes the fog would burn off at 2pm and creep back in at 4pm. We could never eat outside. Having grown up in Hawaii and Southern California, I missed the long evenings over dinner al fresco. Many was the evening we would stay outside until it got cool enough to go to bed.

The weather is changing so quickly that it is hard to know what is due to climate change, what is due to El Niño, and what is location. Since we've been in Santa Rosa, we've had lots of summer days when it has been too hot  to eat outside. Even if it is foggy in the morning, it almost always is sunny by 11am and almost never rolls back in in the evening. This spring, we've had hot days alternating with cold ones. Every time I get ready to put away the woolies and get out the sandals, the weather gets cold and the fog is so thick we could call it a haar.

This morning was one of those mornings.Something went awry with OilMan's golf tee time, so he came home and spent the time waiting for me to get up thinking about whether he still wants to play. By the time I got up, he had decided he would install a Pilates springboard at home and do that instead. I pointed out that that would involve finding enough wall space in a house full of windows, and I didn't put high odds on him using it. I don't think it very likely that he would use it even if we could find a place to put it that wasn't the garage and didn't involve yet another reorganization of the entire house.  I suggested we take Ozzie to Spring Lake and think about it. 

I liked the flag iris that bloom at the water's edge making a nice contrast with the mist as well as the sedges, cattails and brambles. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.