Light

In the June issue of 'Black & White Photography' there is a project on Light. The theme ideas in the magazine suggest approaches to observing  and photographing features of one place over a short period of time with the idea of visiting several times a week to use different light.  This captured my imagination and a place I love, visit frequently and can get to easily is Waddesdon Manor.

Today I was a Volunteer in the House and changed positions between the entrance and exit door and dealing with the audio guides giving time for breaks for the volunteers in those positions.  It is varied and great fun - giving lots of time for interaction with fellow volunteers and members of the public.  I love it.

I used the first part of the day to wander through the House and see how light affected various parts.  One issue is the lack of light - levels are strictly controlled to protect the Collection of valuable artefacts - so photography is tricky at the best of times.  My blip is of a detail on a chest of drawers with the light coming from one side creating shadow and texture.

I have added an extra of window light catching the edges of a candelabra - if you know Waddesdon Manor it's in the Blue dining room with that wonderful chandelier made of broken porcelain.

Things are quiet after yesterday - I think it is the proverbial 'storm in a teacup' and a case where small things get out of proportion.  It will all be resolved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.