Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Well, hello!

With temps topping out in the low 50's today, I was shocked to find this recently emerged (teneral) dragonfly clinging to the cement base of our house this afternoon.  It was quivering its wings in an effort to warm up and I was able to easily tempt it onto my finger for a quick look.  I then put it on a leaf for a few quick shots before returning it to a protected spot on the side of the house under the siding.  I'm sure it will be fine there until temps rise enough over the next few days for it to fly.

As best I can tell, this is an Ashy Clubtail - as it matures, it will turn a much darker brownish/black with pale dorsal markings and blue-ish eyes. If you'd like to see a picture of it on my finger, look in Extra - will give you an  idea of size.  It's actually about the same length as a hummingbird, amazingly.

Had a great outing this morning with my friend.  We arrived in the parking lot at about the same time as another fellow who didn't know the area but was looking for warblers, so we invited him to walk with us.  Between the three of us, we were able to sight/hear a nice variety of birds including some great warbler species.  Lots of fun, even though it was very chilly.  Most of my photos were trash as warblers like to 1) be way up high, and 2) have an uncanny knack of being behind leaves.  

I put a shot of one of this morning's warblers and another angle of the dragon starting HERE on Flickr

Should warm up a little again tomorrow, thank goodness.  I've still got about 15 plants to get in the ground from my little shopping spree yesterday.  

I managed to find a couple of pots of a cigar flowers (Cuphea ignea) today on my way back from the walk and no sooner had I put one of them on the patio, a hummer showed up.  Those flowers are like crack for hummingbirds!


Speaking of hummingbirds, thank you so very much for the kind comments on yesterday's blips.  There will be many more hummingbirds over the next few months, so hopefully you won't tire of them.  


Cheers...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.