The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Horsley in May

What a wealth of choices we had today! Three of the Stroud Valleys' mills open to the public as part of a National Mills Day, and the final day of Open Studios. How to choose from over one hundred artists' work?

I looked at the brochure, decided didn't like any of the artists I had earmarked last week, and chose a new set, in a different valley! In the event, by the time we had seen St Mary's Mill, and popped into Morrison's, we only had time for two. But I am so glad we bothered! First up was Amanda Bradbury, who paints scenes from nature in vibrant acrylics. Birds are her speciality, and she has worked at various WWT locations. She is currently at Slimbridge, the flagship centre. Readers, I bought a print of a curlew, and a loch, and a castle. I can't show it to you because I haven't got it yet.

Then it was up to the small village of Horsley, also near Nailsworth. Rod Nelson is a woodcut printer who works on a grand scale. He had borrowed an architect-designed house with far-reaching views in which to display his work, and it was from the balcony if this house that I took this shot. We both found it a highly social experience: Steve chatted to the men of the houses about the buildings, while I sampled cakes, and kept bumping into people I hadn't seen for ages.

In recent years I haven't made much of an effort to keep up with Open Studios, ( because they used to be in June and now they're n May!), but I am definitely going to get out and about the studio trails next year, and a n the meantime ibwill have my print to remind me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.