Had A Ball Today With Moths

It started last night when I was discussing longhorn moths online with a car club mate. How weird that I should shoot one this morning and it turned out to be exactly the same as he shot two hundred and forty miles away last night. Trouble is we can't identify it. It has ginger 'hair'. I've added it to extras in case anyone can help us out.

The gorgeous moth in my pic is quite small and looks brown until it catches the light. I shot one the other day and thought it looked like a mint moth but mints have a yellow spot on the forewings. I'm delighted to have identified this as a small yellow underwing. It lives with us because we have plenty of stitchwort and chickweed for its larvae to eat.

I got the moth shooting bug and went down the field this evening and captured quite a few more. :)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.