Run Ragged Robin - Ace Tree

My attention was taken by the silly tweeting of some robin fledglings. By the time I had swapped lenses they had scuttled away. The poor harassed parent hung around for a while looking decidedly care-worn and world-weary.

I love robins but try not to post them too often as they're so familiar. It's the gorgeous field maple that the bird is sitting in that has prompted me to go for a bird rather than another macro today. I just love these trees. The flowers smell of honey and are fast turning into 'helicopters' or 'wide double samaras with parallel wings'. The leaves are a beautiful lime-green now and in autumn turn a striking yellow. They're the only truly indigenous member of the maple family in this country. It's possible to make maple syrup from their sap. I wonder why we don't do that in the UK? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.