Antikythera Mechanism

I clicked on today's Google Doodle first thing this morning. Hold on! I know next to nothing about 2000 year-old analogue computers but I know of Antikythera. It's an island south of Kythera in the southern Peloponnese of Greece. MrQ and I have sailed the beautiful but unpredictable waters in the area. I remember the lovely sand lilies on the beaches. It turns out that the Antikythera Mechanism was found in a shipwreck off the island.

It has been raining all day and I was stumped for a blip so decided to recreate the AM. I've used an old valve on a pic of a cabbage with some dirt dusted around. :)

Today's poem is Why Brownlee left by Paul Muldoon. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/57869

I found it interesting that the poem was inspired by the manufacturer's name on a bathroom door at PM's place of work. He could see a brown ploughed lee or field. 

Working a small farm might seem to outsiders to be a recipe for contentment. Just as likely Brownlee topped himself. A farmer is three times more likely than the average person to take his own life. Muldoon, like many others from Ireland, left and went to America.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.