Speckling

 A nice day. My daughter came home from work at lunchtime and served my granddaughter and me with a lovely aubergine creation that she had made for us from a Mary Berry recipe. My granddaughter took a break from her GCSE revision and together we customised her uniform ready for leavers' day next week. We were pleased with our effort speckled with glitter. 

I got my first decent shot of the season of a speckled bush cricket. These early nymphs are minute and cute. :)

Today's poem is from The Rubaiyat of Omar Kyayyam of Naishapur translated by Edward Fitzgerald. http://www.poetry-chaikhana.com/blog/2011/04/11/omar-khayyam-here-with-a-loaf-of-bread-beneath-the-bough-2/

I can't find the complete quote that appears in my book. Many have translated the Rubaiyat. Fitzgerald believed that the worldly pleasures in the poetry were literal. Fitzgerald himself referred to his work as "transmogrification". He said, "I suppose very few People have ever taken such Pains in Translation as I have: though certainly not to be literal. But at all Cost, a Thing must live: with a transfusion of one's own worse Life if one can’t retain the Original's better. Better a live Sparrow than a stuffed Eagle" Many quotes from The Rubaiyat have been incorporated into common usage. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.