Ollie Dog

Some of you might remember my best friend, constant companion and trusty photo assistant Jazzy. I had to ask Justin the vet, who she loved, to put her to rest on 23rd August last year. I was devastated, it knocked me for six, I didn't post about it because it was too painful. I've cried hot tears which have ran into my ears night after night since. 

I couldn't even think of getting another dog and couldn't walk where we had walked together. After Christmas we started to consider getting another and thought of taking in a rescue dog. Deep down though we wanted another German Shepherd, having had the breed since the mid seventies. I contacted Jazzy's breeder and she said that she had a bitch that she would like to rehome after her pups had gone to their new homes.

We picked four-year-old Ola/Ollie up today. It's my birthday. I can't believe how lucky I am. Ollie and I bonded immediately, she's glued to my side. She doesn't look like Jazzy, she's bigger and redder but she reminds me so much of her, though she has a completely different character - she's a terrible food thief. :) Plenty of tears today but smiles too.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.