Davaar Island from the Old Shipyard

11.6C starting wet then dull. Brightening later in the afternoon. Moderate WNW breeze.

More Islay family history research this morning. I was tracing nieces and nephews of the earliest Islay ancestor I have to see if any of them stayed on the island. So far none. Everyone in the families I am looking at seems to have been leaving in the mid to late 1800s. I would like to find at least one person who stayed and trace their descendants.

Maeve the Deerhound and I waited until later to go for our walk. Jethro Tull (Broadsword and the Beast) then Van Morrison (Down the Road) on the iPod Mini. We crossed the road and made our way across the park to the esplanade then headed off out Low Askomill on the North side of Campbeltown loch.

We wandered out as far as the old shipyard where there is a great view out to Davaar island from the high bank on the far side of the shipyard. then went along the North shore path as far as Baraskomel farm then turned round and came back. We had a wander round the esplanade to the harbour and came back through town.

DMC-LX7 f/4 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Note: I processed the photo to emphasise the light on the island against the dark shores of the loch. The original was too bland for my liking today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.