Davaar Island and Arran from New Orleans

14.2C starting bright with more cloud by lunchtime. Rain forecast for later in the afternoon. Light Westerly breeze then Southerly.

The ferry was getting ready to leave when Maeve the Deerhound and I were out for our early walk this morning. We had noticed it was at the terminal last night when we went out around 11pm. It is good to see it back running this weekend after a spell in dry dock.

Maeve and I went out after lunch. We had a short walk round by the harbour then came back home to get the car. Then I drove round to the Doirlinn (by Davaar island) and parked. I left Maeve in the car to have a snooze and set off along the minor road which goes South along the coast and forms part of the Kintyre Way. Classical music on the theme of Seascapes on the iPod Mini. I walked for about a mile and a half, turning at the top of a fairly steep incline to enjoy the view back to Davaar island and Arran before coming back along to the car. There were a few Herons along the shore today, and of course gannets diving. No seals though.

I checked the OS map when I got home for a place name or a farm name for where I had been and was surprised to find the area below the hill is called New Orleans. Makes a great title for the photo !

The forecast rain arrived before 4pm.

From the fish shop down the road, tonight we shall be having fresh Hake. I will pan fry that and finish it in the oven then serve with lemon butter sauce with herbs ...

E-PL5 f/11 1/500 sec. ISO-200 25mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.