Islay, Jura, and Rain Clouds from Machrihanish

14.1C starting wet then clearing. Sunny for a while then heavy showers in the afternoon. Light breeze from the South. SSW, then the West.

After lunch I took Maeve the Deerhound in the car to Machrihanish, thinking we would get a walk before the forecast rain came. I think we managed five minutes before big raindrops started and there was a flash of lightning. I had just had time to get two or three photos looking North to Islay and Jura from "The Pans" where we had parked and start to walk along the road.

I was glad I decided to go back to the car. The heavens opened and the thunder and lightning came along in earnest. We sat in the car for a while but the rain kept coming so we went home. I was surprised the golfers hadn't made for the clubhouses with the lightning around but no doubt they though it would pass quickly.

There was lots of standing water at the side of the road as we drove home. It was still raining when we got back to Campbeltown so we didn't go for a walk here either. Showers since.

E-PL5 f/8 1/320 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.