Clearing the brassica bed

The last of the cultivation from the previous year's crops. All the winter brassicas have finished and are in flower so I couldn't delay any longer. Besides, I need the space for more crops, especially green beans.

Hard work too, as the ground is quite compact and the stalks thick and tough. I slice the leaves off for compost and pile the stalks up for disposal later. They'll probably be in the same place this time next year. Dug over about a third of the cleared plot, hopefully finish it tomorrow.

An afternoon at the allotment followed a good swim and gym session, so I've had my exercise for today. Took the damaged car to an accident repair shop so they could prepare an estimate for the insurance company. Looks like it'll be off the road for 5 days, but may be longer if they find anything untoward when the bumper is removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.