Urgent vs important

A few years ago a friend of mine introduced me to a method of dividing up tasks. Basically, you draw a simple grid - one horizontal line bisected by a vertical one. The upper half is important and the right half is urgent. Thus you end up with four quadrants:

- Urgent and important
- Urgent but not important
- Not urgent but important
- Not urgent and not important

Over the past few months, I've accrued quite a lot of stuff in the last class, so I decided I'd work this evening and clear the backlog. I don't mind working late so much when it's light in the evenings, especially as I can look out of the window and see the river.

In the middle pane at the bottom is an old sign of ours that I can't bear to throw away. I'm not even sure who designed it - just that it was a friend of my original partner, Richard - but I remember he only charged us £50. The first time we had a branding review, the logo was the first thing to go. I still rather like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.