Judge!

Have you heard the term 'imposter syndrome'? It refers to a situation where you feel that perhaps your capabilities have been over-estimated and you've been put in a job or role that you're not sure you can fulfil (if only to your own standards).

I've been asked to sit on a panel of judges for some business awards that will take place later in the year. I wasn't very sure that I was the right man for the job - and I did say this to the chap who invited me to do it - but in the end I accepted and today was the day the panel sat.

Actually, there were a few of panels sitting over two days but I was only required to day to assess the entries for three categories, including 'CSR' (corporate social responsibility). And, as it turned out, it all went pretty well. I managed to find some questions that the candidates could get their teeth into and I especially enjoyed one company who came forward for the CSR category. 

Plenty of companies make donations, have fundraising days etc, and that is great, but this company seem to have it right at the heart of what they do (although they aren't a charity). In the end, I really enjoyed myself, much more than I expected to, and this one company really was the icing on the day's cake. 

****
-6.6kgs FINALLY! I've lost a stone. I'd hoped to do that by the end of February, to be honest, but I'm not complaining :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.