a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Strange Boat

Derelict Sunday: Strange Boat

"We're sailing on a strange boat
Heading for a strange shore
We're sailing on a strange boat
Heading for a strange shore
Carrying the strangest cargo
That was ever hauled aboard


We're sailing on a strange sea
Blown by a strange wind
We're sailing on a strange sea
Blown by a strange wind
Carrying the strangest crew
That ever sinned'"

The Waterboys - Strange Boat

This shot of the derelict hulk of Euro Lady sitting in the Bristol Marina was only possible because Serpentine was able to give us access ...  (and I didn't photoshop the seagull in, it really was there!)

Today was the Bristol Blip Meet, organised by Serpentine.  I collected Carol (Evolybab) and we drove into Bristol to our agreed meeting point the Underfall Boat Yard.  Just as we arrived the skies opened and it absolutely tipped down.  Carol and I looked at each other and agreed that sitting in the car for a few minutes until it went over was definitely the order of the day.

Meeting the other blippers ( serpentine, evolybabMarkusMeerkat, incredibish and Kernow,) involved the usual exchange of blip names and then personal names - all except for me as I've been boring and have the same name in the real world :-)

It was then off for a circumnavigation of the floating harbour guided by the very knowledgeable Serpentine.  Needless to say, in true blip-meet style, progress was slow with many stops along the way to take advantage of the near continuous photo opportunities that presented themselves.

Now, you have to understand that I walk around the docks at lunchtime quite often, so I know them reasonably well.  But walking with other blippers and watching what they were seeing opened my eyes to the many opportunities that I have been missing.  

I'll end up putting most of the shots up on my Flickr stream, but there are quite a few extras as it was a "big" blip day.  I haven't have now also uploaded the group photo to keep Marcus happy ;-)

All in all, a very enjoyable day out and one that I hope we will re-do soon.  Hopefully we can get a few more of the local blip community along as well, which would make it even more fun :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.