Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Seeds? What seeds?

I haven't seen any seeds!  No sirree.

Never trust a chipmunk with loaded cheek pouches.  On the other hand, never pass up an opportunity to photograph them when they're loaded.  Honestly, they are the cutest of rodents, aren't they?  There were three of them racing around the patio today, chasing each other, chipping, and generally acting like a bunch of tiny striped hooligans.  Hey, there's a word you don't hear much anymore... hooligans.  But I digress.

It was a lazy day.  We started with a nice long phone chat with my parents followed by a chat with Hub's mom and sister.  Then quite a lot of pottering around in the yard.  Hubs started taking large limbs off a birch tree next to our house that seems to be dying.  As for me, I pulled some weeds, potted a scabiosa, and took way too many pics.  

In Extra, I'm putting Yardbirds # 40 and 41, a gray-cheeked thrush and a European starling, respectively.  Ordinarily, that photo of the thrush would have gone straight into the bin, but it is only the second time I've ever seen this species in my yard and they are only migrant in our area so not here for long.  As for the starling, well, they come around from time to time.  Lately, they've been hitting the suet pretty hard, taking big bites and carrying them off, no doubt to feed babies somewhere.  

The House Wrens are still dueling it out in the yard with lots of singing, chasing and chattering.  Today I saw four of them embroiled in a scuffle.  Crazy.  

Three other pics on Flickr, starting here with a chippie and followed with a totally different sort of chippie and a rude hummingbird.  

Tomorrow I'm headed out early to hopefully catch some warbler action.  Hopefully the weather, and the warblers, will cooperate by letting me get some decent shots.  And if not, I'll at least enjoy the outing.  

Cheers!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.