Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

King of the Garden

P-Hummie has taken to perching on one of the tall branches I have staked in the garden for the bluebirds.  And it is quite something to see this tiny bird perched a foot or so below the bluebirds as they watch their nest.  If you've never had the experience of seeing a hummingbird "in person", they are about the size of an average human thumb, making them smaller than some of our native moths.  Fearless little creatures, though, in spite of their diminutive size.  This one flies to within several feet of where I am standing to take nectar from a feeder, seemingly unfazed by my presence.  

Had a great walk this morning with a friend - hiked a hilly trail for about 3.5 miles and saw/heard many birds.  I took very few pictures but enjoyed the morning immensely anyway.  I did catch a few shots of a red-eyed vireo gathering nesting material, which I posted HERE on Flickr.  And I saw my very first red eft (juvenile phase of an eastern newt) and got a quick shot with my iPhone, which you can see HERE.  They are such pretty things.
  
Home in time for lunch with Hubs and then went with him for a doctor's appointment.  Back home and some office time for him while I farted around  did important things in the yard.  The bluebirds are hard at work feeding the nestlings as are the chickadees.  In fact, I was going to check the 'dees nest box today but the parents were taking turns going in and out with larva, so I decided to wait one more day.  

Thanks for all the love on yesterday's chipmunk.  You are obviously, like me, suckers for the cheeky little striped rodents!  You'll be seeing more of them, I promise.

Cheers and happy Monday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.