stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

New Kid On The Block

This little guy was a very special present from another special little guy. Thanks Flynnie. He's ace and taken pride of place on my Star Wars shelf! All the other stormtroopers are well jeal!!! ;-) Nanny never told me the name of your other special gift was, so I've called him Bob if that's ok. He's resting in my bedroom just now after the long and tiring flight. Haha, don't know who is snoring louder, him or Nanny (only joking - she's quiet as a mouse)! :-)) Hope you're feeling better too.
 
My self-imposed exile from Blip has come to an end. It's been a hectic and sometimes traumatic four months preparing for the arrival of my guest but the day arrived when the lovely Gitama returned to her native shores for the start of what will hopefully be an epic five week stay. And the trooper wasn't the only gift I was showered with. Spoilt rotten I was. Cheers m'dears! :-)
Apologies for my absence (I can hear my mum's words of wisdom - "if you did a little each day" - ringing in my ears as I type) but it was necessary for the completion of a task those of you who have been following me long enough know is the one thing that strikes fear into me more than any other... cleaning the flat!

While grandiose ideas of replacing the windows and renovating the kitchen and bathroom (all things that need to happen, just not this year) soon flew out the window my first mistake was to set the task of building a proper study of my front room waaaaay back in February. In order to do that I first had to catalogue my DVD/BR collection to rid myself of the countless boxes and cabinets that stored the 1900+ titles. Over the course of a month I slowly but surely completed the task which sees the collection now housed in a single cabinet and installed a new desk that gives me easy access to computer, printing and scanning. Alas, this was only the start as for some dubious, almost masochistic reason I decided that instead of piling all my junk into cupboards and cleaning the flat in accordance with standard operating procedures I would... Clean. Out. The. Cupboards! I mean, I had plenty of time, right?!!

O.M.G. What a mistake!

It's too raw and too traumatic to go into details but at least a dozen trips to the recycling centre and countless bags of landfill (to my shame - why can't glass other than bottles be recycled?) twelve and a half years of detritus was removed from the flat. I polished and cleaned. Disinfected and scrubbed.  I even washed down the woodwork INSIDE CUPBOARDS for God's sake!!!

I'm sick. This isn't proper behaviour. Not for me. But it's done. And I'm glad. Why? Because I bloody well put everything into plastic boxes so all I'll ever have to do to clean again is wipe down nice straight uniform surfaces. Or maybe take a hose to it all!  :-)

I think I've lost my fingerprints... my life of petty theft can begin!

Tomorrow the fun begins in earnest. :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.