stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Life in 23mm

I've decided I need to give my X100T a proper try out since, alas it's been much neglected since it was purchased right before I stopped blipping. I have to say, it's taking a bit of time getting used to being restricted to the 23mm prime lens. For primarily a landscape bod the view just isn't there. Of course I knew this when I bought it and I had other ideas for it which I will need to work on but for now it's just a wee play to get comfy with it and challenge myself to how I select my subjects and compose with it. You'll notice in my landscape extra I haven't quite cut the shackles of my beloved 2x1 crop. I just love the format.

Having been a Canon man for so long and being able to transition easily from model to model, finding my way around is a challenge just now. That's not to say it isn't fun... it's just kinda alien at the moment. By the end of the day though I was almost able to work the very tactile chunky controls without taking my eye from the viewfinder.


It was an easy start to the day. We left around 10:30 and headed out to Rosslyn Chapel. It was the first time I'd visited since they had completed work on the roof and it was absolutely lovely to see it resplendent without tarpaulin or scaffolding. Almost as beautiful now on the outside as it is in the inside. Be sure to check out Gitama's wonderful capture of it. From there we followed the trail round to the remains of Roslin Castle. There isn't much to see. Only a few columns and a stretch of outer wall but the vaulted bridge approach over the glen is rather nice.

From there, we travelled east to Tantallon Castle on the coast. Overlooking the Firth of Fourth with the volcanic plug of Bass Rock it is probably my favourite of the Lothian castles. At times today the cloud hid a lot of the light and so it was great to catch details through the windows. I love how the wear and tear plays on these openings and so this had to be my shot for the day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.