stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Rear Windows

My play with window light continued today as Gitama and I extended our tour of some of the local Historic Scotland sites for another day. I don't know what it is but I'm just drawn to them.

I've spare you another mono treatment from our visit to Dirleton Castle. The Lord's Hall in the 13th century tower built for the de Vaux family has to be one of the most photogenic with the remains of three large walk in windows dominating the room opposite a large fireplace and all contained under a domed stone ceiling. The meandering entrance to the hall and one of the beautifully characteristic windows can be found in my extras.

After our planned boat trip around Craigleith and Bass Rock was cancelled due to high seas we decided to stop off at Seton Collegiate Church on the way home. The restored 12th - 15th century church boasts the most wonderful square coloured stained glass windows and when the sun shines, as it did this afternoon, the colours are just wonderful. When the mid-day sun shines though the windows that line the Choir, it casts the most wonderful patterns across the stone floor, a pattern repeated later in the day on the north transept and over the tombstone slabs that lay there which is my main shot today. My final extra is a wet plate play with a vase of flowers that were left on the window ledge in the sacristy.

Please check out Gitama's take on the day here.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.