stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Eilean Donan

A big day today as Gitama and I headed off on our travels north. Stage 1 was Edinburgh to Drumnadrochit via Loch Laggan and Eilean Donan Castle. It was also a last minute change. We had slated to visit Eilean Donan on our way back from Skye towards the end of the holiday but ferry schedules from Harris and accommodation woes on Skye meant the original idea of a leisurely drive around the top end wasn't going to be possible given Eilean Donan was on Gitama's bucket list for the trip. It wasn't exactly on the way but in knocking off this excursion today instead we're now back on track for spending more time on Skye. Huzzah! :-)

"Sometimes you eat the bear, and sometimes the bear eats you."
~ The Big Labowski

Photographically it was just one of those days. The bear definitely got me and there were very few shots that ticked the boxes. On our travels Gitama and I had all sorts of discussions Blip, amongst them artistic licence, processing and individual personal preference... so I thought I would take some of the former with today's shot and produce an old wet plate style image. I've placed my more conventional mono process in the extras. The other is a solitary tree that caught my eye across on the other side of Loch Duich, again with some artistic licence taken.

Gitama's wonderful shots can be seen here.

Thanks for the views, comments, hearts and stars. Very late and another big day ahead tomorrow but hopefully I'll be able to catch up sometime then.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.