Day 2...Splendiferous....

...Allbeit a little weary as I keep waking up at 4am ready to get cracking and not being able to get back to sleep again.

Wow what another fabulous day...starting off in the gardens of Dirlton Castle.......Peonies the size of dinner plates........bearded Iris with their furry tongues....ginormous Poppies and tulips that stood so proud and straight....and that is not to mention the lawns speckled with daisies. and the clumps of Bluebells (that I took lots of pics of for my Mum...she loves them)...yep! 7th heaven again.
The castle was like a rabbit warren little rooms here and there up to the top to overlook the surrounding country side and the beautifully manicured gardens ( oh and some very smelly sheep). Even thought the day was grey the light was lovely as it poured through the window area onto the dark stone.
At times it was cold...the wind was blowing like ice and I pulled my hat further down on my head and my scarf tighter around my neck...but funnily enough I enjoyed the bite....and sharp freshness.
We spent a long time searching all over the castle and imagining what it must of been like to of lived there...and what it must of looked like with all its finery draping the walls. 
As we walked back down I met the gardener and had a chat with him about   the garden and the different times the flowers are in full bloom....it's amazing how much information one can glean in just a short amount of time. Extras of Dirlton .....the stairs....bearded iris and the window seats.

We were going to go out on a boat today...to see the puffins but the sea was too rough and the boat was cancelled...I was a bit sad about that but when we got down to the water and I saw the choppy waves I was really happy we weren't out in it. We went to the bird centre and I bought Flynn a stuffed  Puffin and had a bite to eat.

On the way home we stopped at Seton Collegiate Church.....I took in my tripod and did some long exposures.........(extras....calendula in vase and chapel with vaulted ceiling)...it was another beautiful place approaching from a wooded path with birds merrily chirping away.....bluebells and other lovely flowers dotted here an there underneath the trees with their spring green leaves...it has been a very long process deciding which images to post..there are so many that have significance of my day...that I would of loved to of shared........but I really have to get to bed...I can hardly see straight.....besides we need to be up reasonably early as we are heading North tomorrow....how exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.