The Most Wonderful Day......

.........Rosslyn Chapel....Rosslyn Castle.......Tantallon Castle and Rape Seed Fields.

We started the day off by going to Rosslyn Chapel. I really was not prepared for the overwhelming emotions that rose in me when I walked through the door onto this scene. A little bit embarrassed at the tears and the lump in my throatI had to sit on the bench for a while to gather myself.

I am not religious ...I couldn't work out what it was that was brewing inside of me. After spending a fair amount of time circling the outside of the Chapel and then going inside (which I have to say made my eyes dance with the most gorgeous stain glass windows and the stone carvings) I realised it was the art......the exquisite symbolic carvings the light pouring in through the stained glass windows and the heavy scent of the Oriental lilies that filled 2 huge vases with fresh green foliage.....all of it.........even as I write I feel the emotions rise again.

After the chapel we took a walk in the grounds to the Castle....where I found bluebells ..... buttercups and daisies........all the wonderful flowers of my childhood along with being sung to by lots of little birds flying in and out of the woods.
We had a robin introduce himself to us and I saw the biggest a furriest bumble bee I have ever seen....Peter told me that it really wasn't that big and they got a lot bigger than that.
I was amazed at how huge the dandelion clocks were and the dandelions themselves being as big as sunflowers.....well big anyway.

As we drove to Tantallon Castle I was excited to see the beautiful yellow of the rape seed fields and took a note of where we needed to stop to take some pics.
Tantallon Castle was just awesome...we wandered around it and climbed up to the battlements for ages...taking pics and looking out over to Bass rock...white with thousands and thousands of white birds and white bird poo...it looked almost surreal against the sometimes slate blue of the sky.

I have posted 4 extras of the day..it has taken a long time to go through all the pics I took.....I could of posted so many more but its nearly 12 and we have another big day tomorrow.

Thank you Peter for the most wonderful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.