Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wild grass and daisies

When I mentioned yesterday that I was going on a photo tour to the Camargue I failed to say that I was booked to fly on Friday and back home on Monday - well I thought I was booked to fly on Friday....when I checked my documents yesterday I realised that I had booked the right flight but on the wrong day! (yes I know, how stupid is that?) I have been in panic mode for the last 2 days trying to rectify my awful mistake. I could not change the flight, there were no flights available for Friday. I looked at various alternatives of flying to different French cities and then getting a train to Montpellier but nothing worked. I suppose it is Bank Holiday weekend and flights are full.

So there was no choice but to go on Thursday, spend Thursday night in Montpellier and then join the rest of the group on Friday back at the airport where we are being collected and taken to Sainte Marie de la Mer. Easier said than done...I could not find a hotel to stay in, everything was booked. What is happening in Montpellier this week? Maybe a trade show or something? Eventually I found a hotel near the station that sounds a bit dodgy, but it will have to do! Desperate times calls for desperate measures!

Then last night the photo tour co-ordinator suggested someone could pick me up on Thursday from the airport and take me to Sainte Marie de la Mer a day earlier and bring forward my booking there. So I cancelled my Montpellier booking, knowing it was probably the last room available in the entire city! This morning those plans changed as the person who thought they could collect me can no longer do so...aaargh! I quickly contacted the Montpellier hotel and reinstated my booking there - a night at said dodgy hotel is cheaper than the long taxi ride from Montpellier airport to Sainte Marie de la Mer, so it was the cheaper option and this way I get to discover another beautiful French city!

If I you have read this far, you may understand why I have been in panic mode...but now I can calm down and look forward to seeing something of Montpellier which was not expected, and who knows, said dodgy hotel may not be too bad?!!

Today my thigh waders arrived and I had a laugh as I put them on, they are not exactly stylish - but I am sure they will do the trick and keep me dry whilst wading in the water to photograph the horses. They were surprisingly inexpensive, as I got them from a men's utility clothing website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.