Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fire Drill

How's this then? It is the closest I have ever got to a fire engine and I had to be careful getting my shots as the authorities can be very edgy about photographs. The first thing you may notice about this truck is that it is yellow rather than red. We use to have red fire engines until around 8 years ago.

The drill itself was most interesting. Too many people had prior warning, so if authorities wanted to record response times etc. they would not get an accurate reading. Fortunately the entire exercise didn't last too long and this time, we were allowed to assemble in shady areas.

The rest of the day passed nicely enough. I had a call to say my car was ready to come back home, so G picked me up and we raced there. It's had a number of long standing problems fixed this time. That was reflected in the bill. Yikes!

As we were on that side of town, we decided to use a voucher I received when I got my liquor licence earlier this year -150 dirhams off the bill at Warehouse. I had heard about this pub but never been so it was really good to experience it first hand.

You can see a bit of the restaurant in my extra. The place is HUGE. Good menu and it would appear we picked the right night as it was . . . Ladies Night!!! Which over here, starts at 7, lasts four hours and has free flowing prosecco and a dessert table.

We were supposed to go to Carrefour to do a shop but that plan soon got abandoned, especially after prosecco. We decided to try their pavlova for dessert. I had no idea what this would look like, so was really surprised with what came... a  large (size of a side plate) meringue which - surprise(!) was stuffed with fresh seasonal fruit. The funniest part though was when the waiter asked if he could break the top so we could get to the fruit. He used the back of a spoon to do it and when he tapped the top, it exploded!! Meringue and fruit all over the table - mostly in the direction of G! We had to laugh!! The waiter was so shocked. Definitely a place we have to go back to...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.