TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Srelitzia

Otherwise known as Bird of Paradise, this stunning flower originates in South Africa, but is commonly found in Australian gardens.
I left home today determined to take a really good wide angle shot (yes, I tried last week too). After walking along the Goulburn River taking several photos, it started to rain so I was forced to head off.  I drove home through a recently established housing estate where all the architecture is modern and the highly structured gardens designed to offset the dwellings. On one corner of the estate I found a whole garden blazing with colour and realised it was mass planted with these amazing shrubs.  It certainly made a statement against the dark cladding of the house and the deep green of the climber on the dividing fence.  I jumped out of the car (yes, it was still raining) and hung over the black wrought iron fence desperately trying for a close up. I can't help it, this is my preferred position.
Obviously, my heart has ruled my head and my wide angle shot has only made it as an extra. (which I am having difficulty uploading at the moment, but will keep trying)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.