A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Coots on the pond.

This morning was grey and drizzly and I failed to get a single good shot on our St Ives Estate morning walk. There was a Coot family again with 3 chicks being well cared for by mum (see last week ) but none of my pictures were good. It was pleasing to see both pairs of ducklings, one pair larger than the other, still present and feeding but much as I enjoyed watching them I wasn't happy with my pictures.

I had to take Chris down for the train after lunch and do a bit of shopping so I decided to try again on the way back with a bit more time to spend walking around Coppice Pond.

I saw 3 Coot families. One with one chick and two here with 2 chicks and 4 respectively. I'm so impressed with their parenting and the chicks are looking less ugly now too.

You can see the island in the background with this lovely Rhodi reflected in the water. I think this was on the shot Wendles56 got on the national weather forecast last night. I'm not sure as it was very fleeting and I just caught ' Wendles, St.Ives, Bingley' before it disappeared. Well done Wendy.

Much warmer today but still wet, Bank Hilday on the way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.