a town called E.

By Eej

Mrs. Stripeysides

The Lady and (I assume) her Partner are living in a hole right off our back patio. It's in close proximity to all the goodies, so, really, prime realty. Unfortunately it's also very much a. exposed and visible for friends and foes alike and b. incredibly in the way.  
I've tried finding suitable cover for it that is not in danger of collapsing on top of their home (the construction with wood and bricks was not a clever idea), or blowing/washing away. It had to be visible enough that I don't constantly fall over it, but not SO visible that it looks ridiculous.

In short: tall order.

I was just about to start sculpting a half-pipe/igloo from clay when this afternoon I had to move the chimenea and it fell apart in my hands. 
Oh, crap.
But it had a lid that could work as a hole cover! I carefully hammered on the lid where I wanted an opening, and a piece that was exactly the right size and shape fell out. After fainting from sheer joy that this was not something I managed to screw up, I placed it over the hole and VOILA!
Mrs. Stripeysides seems to quite happy with it :)
I also dug a ditch, so that water coming off the patio will not drip into the hole.
Yes. I know. I'm totally weird. Who cares :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.