a town called E.

By Eej

Lansing, representing.

The estimates vary widely - but there could have been 20,000 people at the peak of the rally in Lansing, MI. This is on top of a more or less unofficial rally in Kalamazoo, and a march in Ann Arbor. Not bad for a state that went to DT (albeit not by much).
So, I left my very small, very white, and very red town (many poor people, hoping that DT can make them less poor.) to make my voice heard. As a non-citizen (that will have changed before the next election in 2018, hopefully) I couldn't vote and I have felt helpless, and somewhere between furious and devastated for months.
Being surrounded by like-minded and vastly different people eased my soul. There were many passionate speakers, and I'm hopeful that the shock of that-what-has-happened happening woke people up - and will continue to make them motivated to change things for the better, not change them back to the fifties.

It certainly motivated me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.