Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Small Copper above Saie Bay

We had lovely picnic lunch above Saie Bay and overlooking Rozel. There were lots of butterflies about including Wall Browns, Red Admirals, Speckled Woods, a Holly Blue and this Small Copper. We weren't in a rush so I took my time stalking them, which included lying on the ground!

We headed up and around the corner to Rozel in search of the infamous Handkerchief Tree. I remember going to see it with my Papa when I was a small child and hoped it was still there. It's up a tiny lane near a posh hotel and posh houses, so not you're run of the mill area! It was there and I've put a photo in extras of the leaves showing the handkerchiefs. Native to China, handkerchief tree was once considered to be the Holy Grail of exotic flora, and seeds were first sent to England by the legendary botanist Ernest Wilson in 1901.

Next week will be my last week of hosting and the theme will be ART with the tag of mm123. Once again please feel free to interpret it in any way you like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.