Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

American White Pelican

This is the first Pelican I have seen in the water this year so it had to be my blip.  I've been seeing them flying around for several weeks but not low enough to get a shot.  Someday the sun will come back to its full time job and I will have better light on my photos.  It's been really frustrating that I can't seem to be outside when it makes an appearance!

This is a long weekend in the US and the Colorado street crews try to have all the high mountain passes cleared of snow.  So it's considered our unofficial beginning of camping season.   Mother Nature had other plans, though, with high winds and several inches of snow.  They're still hoping to have them open sometime over the weekend.  So, of course, we got our trailer out of storage and are planning our first trip in a few weeks....and I think I have figured out a way to get my blips posted while I'm away.  :-) 

Edit:  I forgot to mention that I learned something about White Pelicans today.  Their top of head feathers are black only when they are feeding chicks, otherwise they are all white.  I've always wondered why only some had black on their heads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.