Remote

Not much of a day on the weather front, though it did stop raining long enough to convince me to do a small load of washing. It dried enough before the weather turned again to finish off in the airing cupboard.

A remote isn't particularly exciting but it hopefully marks a new chapter in house alarms for hpx. I won't bore you with the details, suffice to say, if you ever have earthquake repairs make sure they get an alarm person to remove the sensors while they work on the walls. I was told the alarm would be disconnected and the sensors removed, but of course they weren't.

I've had nothing but trouble with my alarm since my quake repairs and now I have a new alarm (except for the original noisy part, keypad and the metal box the motherboard etc lives in). My little alarm man says he sees a lot of alarm issues like mine, sensors painted over or scraped.

It's taken since March to get this far, we've tried a few other things but for various reasons they didn't work. Hopefully the sensors work with my particular active striped cat, and various shadow effects etc. I'm hopeful I can start to put the alarm behind me.

In my mind I hoped to blip my ice axe, helmet and crampons. They're out and ready just in case the weather is ok enough to venture into the hills tomorrow. But the light faded too quickly and it didn't happen.

On the up side there might be a blip tomorrow with snow. I reckon it's 50/50 with the weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.