MODELLING THE EYE BAG!

The model on the box didn’t look quite like this, but then perhaps she hasn’t got what I’ve got!

As you may remember, we both had an appointment at the opticians yesterday afternoon and we were very pleased with the excellent service we received.

From the time we walked in we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and it just got better from there.  All the staff were very kind and efficient and I think it’s fair to say we have never had a better eye test anywhere in all our years.  We had opted to have a special scan, which did cost extra, but was well worth it and gave us peace of mind about our eyes.

I have had problems with my eyes for a few years and often felt it was an allergy to something, but was told by previous opticians that it was cataracts that were growing.  However, yesterday I was told I had meibomian gland dysfunction - which actually sounds worse than it is.  

Apparently, it is a very common condition where the small oil glands in the eyelid edges don’t work properly.  You probably didn’t know that you have about 25 meibomian glands in each lower eyelid and 30 in each upper eyelid, which produce an oil called meibum and this forms a very thin layer on the front of the eye that slows down evaporation of the tears and lubricates the eyelids and eyeball during blinking.

So I now have drops to put in, an eye bag to use early every evening (which should effectively get me out of the washing up!) and a cleanser to be used following that - all to be applied every day and hopefully, it will improve my “scratchy” eyes and thankfully, we were both told our cataracts were only slight, which was a huge relief.

I did laugh at one point, because I was trying to talk to the optometrist whilst he was typing something into the computer and he said, “Please tell me in a moment, I’m a man and I can’t multi-task!”

I won’t even tell you how much our new glasses are going to cost - but eyes are so precious and we really aren’t that bothered - after all “shrouds have no pockets” and we might as well have what we need now.

“The only thing worse than being blind 
is having sight and no vision.” 
Helen Keller

P.S.  It was really hard taking a "selfie" - you try it when you can't see what you're doing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.